The ASLRRA gives out three awards that recognize contributions to increased safety in the regional and short line rail industry, the ASLRRA Safety Award ("Jake Award"), the President's Awards and the Safety Person of the Year Award. Click below for descriptions, past winners, and other information about these awards.

Thank you to our 2014 Safety Awards Program sponsors:

Titanium Level 


Genesee & Wyoming Inc.

Greenville & Western Railway Company, LLC

NARS/National Academy of Railroad Sciences OmniTRAX Zurich N.A.

Steel Level

Aiken Railway Company, LLC

Georgetown Rail Equipment Company


Rio Grande Pacific Corporation

Watco Companies LLC

Iron Level

Adrian & Blissfield Rail Road Company

Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co.

Liberty International Underwriters, Inc.

Past Winners

For a list of the past winners of the Jake Award and the Jake Award with Distinction, click on the year below.